The following is a press release from South Dakota Gun Owners:

PIERRE, SD (Jan. 29, 2019) – Today South Dakota Governor Kristi Noem signed Constitutional Carry into law, eliminating the need for law-abiding citizens to obtain a concealed carry permit to carry a concealed handgun for self-defense.

National Association for Gun Rights Vice President Zach Lautenschlager, who has been advocating for Constitutional Carry in South Dakota for over 20 years, was in attendance at today’s signing event at the Pierre Capitol.

“The National Association for Gun Rights and our 18,000 South Dakota members applaud Governor Noem for her stand for our Second Amendment rights,” said Lautenschlager. “This is a major step in restoring our rights.”

Lautenschlager was joined at the ceremony by South Dakota Gun Owner’s Political Director and lobbyist Jordan Mason, along with several other gun owners and enthusiasts at today’s signing event.

South Dakota will be the 13th state to enact such legislation, joining a dozen other states nationwide who have already enacted similar legislation.

Gunpowder Magazine reported earlier this week:

“Constitutional Carry legislation,” according to South Dakota Gun Owners (SDGO), “recognizes law-abiding citizens’ right to carry concealed firearms for self-defense, without obtaining a permit, but retains the concealed carry permitting system for out-of-state reciprocity.”

“It looks like South Dakota may soon be the thirteenth state to pass full Constitutional Carry,” said Dudley Brown, President of the National Association for Gun Rights. “Congratulations to all the South Dakotans who have worked for this over the past 20 years. And a special thanks to Senate President Pro Tempore Brock Greenfield for shepherding the bill through the process this year.”

Three of the four safest states in the U.S. — Vermont, Maine, and New Hampshire — honor Constitutional Carry. South Dakota would join 12 others — Alaska, Arizona, Idaho, Kansas, Maine, Mississippi, Missouri, New Hampshire, North Dakota, Vermont, West Virginia, and Wyoming — as Constituional Carry States.