Reviewed By: Friedrich Seiltgen

Copyright © 2023

Nick Lavery is an active-duty Green Beret within the U.S. Special Forces. He suffered a life-changing injury during combat, resulting in the above-the-knee amputation of his leg. This injury would have retired most soldiers, but Lavery decided otherwise. Not only is he still in the U.S. Army, but he also returned to duty with his Special Forces Detachment and continues conducting combat operations to this day.

With his book “Objective Secure,” Lavery’s mission is to help the reader to absorb the vignettes and principles to enable those striving toward a goal to realize their pre-existing unlocked potential and recognize that anything is possible with an effective mindset and strategy.

Lavery speaks of the warrior ethos; to him, it is a way of life that defines who we are and aspire to become. This way of life is an option for everybody.

The Warrior Ethos Tenets:

  • I will always place the mission first.
  • I will never accept defeat.
  • I will never quit.
  • I will never leave a fallen comrade.

I will always place the mission first: Lavery speaks about the military undertones of this, but it simply means your long-term goal. Everyone has dreams, but most do not turn their dreams into reality without sacrifice and discipline. The most crucial piece of the first tenet is sacrifice, a subset of discipline – the act of foregoing what we want for what we need.

I will never accept defeat: This is self-explanatory. If you get knocked down seven times, you get up eight. Lavery tells the reader about his experiences at Walter Reed Hospital during rehabilitation. If you fall, no one is coming to pick you up.

I will never quit: Although it sounds the same as never accepting defeat, for Nick, it’s about avoiding complacency. Don’t let yourself get comfortable, don’t celebrate too long, don’t accept the status quo, and don’t remain stagnant. The principle is that satisfaction doesn’t exist, and it is time to move on and attack the next obstacle.

I will never leave a fallen comrade: For Lavery, this tenet means committing to whatever it takes. Our brains want to keep us safe, but fear of pain, as well as success, will be a barrier to achieving your goals.

For Lavery, the strategy for success lies in eight phases:

  • Phase 1. Mission
  • Phase 2. Design
  • Phase 3. Research
  • Phase 4. Approach
  • Phase 5. Execute
  • Phase 6. Track
  • Phase 7. Assess
  • Phase 8. Repeat

In Lavery’s words, the military warfighting function is a bunch of things being done by a bunch of people, all working in harmony to achieve a specific result.

This sounds familiar because it describes this book – the connectivity between the multiple systems we must leverage. And in case you haven’t already acknowledged it, “You are the Commander.”

“Objective Secure” is an incredible journey into the mindset of a true warrior. Lavery gives you the strategy he used to take action that you can follow to improve your situation.

Lavery is like the physician that tells you to lose 20 pounds, eat right, and stop smoking. You know it’s the right thing to do, but you’ve become lazy and complacent.

Pick up a copy of “Objective Secure” and change your path.

That’s all for now, folks! Please keep sending in your questions, tips, and article ideas. And as always – “Let’s Be Careful Out There.”

Friedrich Seiltgen is a retired Master Police Officer with 20 years of service with the Orlando Police Department. He conducts training in Lone Wolf Terrorism, Firearms, and Active Shooter Response. His writing has appeared in Off Grid, Soldier of Fortune, RECOIL, The Counter Terrorist Magazine, American Thinker, Homeland Security Today, and The Journal of Counterterrorism & Homeland Security International.

Contact him at [email protected]